About Us

Welcome. The Regional District provides local government services to an area of 100,000km² in northwestern British Columbia. Member municipalities are Kitimat, Terrace, Stewart, Hazelton and New Hazelton.

The Regional District administers over 40 "functions" or services ranging from rural land use planning, to a community water system, to fire protection, to library services, to a public marina. Forecast expenditures in the 2009 Budget are $16 million. The Regional District employs approximately 20 full and part-time employees in Terrace and Kitimat

For information on our departments and their responsibilites, see the Services page.