## REGIONAL DISTRICT OF KITIMAT-STIKINE BYLAW No. 555

A Bylaw to establish an Advisory Planning Commission to cover the unincorporated area of Thornhill Electoral Area E, pursuant to section 898 of the Local Government Act.

**WHEREAS** the Board of Directors of the Regional District of Kitimat-Stikine deems it desirable to establish an Advisory Planning Commission to advise the Regional Board of concerns in planning matters within the unincorporated area of Thornhill;

**NOW THERERORE** the Board of Directors of the Regional District of Kitimat-Stikine, in open meeting, hereby enacts as follows:

- 1. That the Regional District of Kitimat-Stikine Bylaw No. 243 cited as the "Regional District of Kitimat-Stikine Thornhill Advisory Planning Commission Bylaw No. 243, 1986" be rescinded in its entirety.
- 2. An Advisory Planning Commission is hereby established for the unincorporated area of Thornhill, Electoral Area E, of the Regional District of Kitimat-Stikine to be known and described as the Thornhill Advisory Planning Commission.
- 3. The Thornhill Advisory Planning Commission shall be appointed by the Board to represent the area of Thornhill.
- 4. Duties of the Advisory Planning Commission:
  - a) The Advisory Planning Commission shall advise the Regional Board and the Board's representatives on planning matters within the area of Thornhill.
  - b) The Advisory Planning Commission shall advise the Board on all matters referred to the Commission by the Board or by the Electoral Area Director and on such other planning matters as the Commission deems important to Thornhill development.
- 5. Composition of the Commission:
  - a) The Commission shall be comprised of a maximum of nine members including eight residents of Thornhill and a representative of Kitselas First Nation. The members of the Commission shall serve without remuneration.
- 6. Appointments to the Commission
  - a) The Commission shall consist of a maximum of eight residents from Thornhill who shall be appointed by a resolution of the Board.

- b) In recognition of the Kulspai neighborhood of Thornhill, there shall be a position on the Commission for a representative from the Kitselas First Nation. This ninth member of the Commission shall be appointed by the Kitselas Band Council.
- c) A Director of the Regional District Board, employee or officer of the local government, or an approving officer is not eligible to be a member but may attend at a meeting of the Commission in a resource capacity.
- 7. Tenure of Membership:
  - a) Members of the Advisory Planning Commission shall be appointed to office for two years, commencing from the date of appointment.
  - b) Commission appointments arising out of resignation or death may be made at any time as the occasion arises which shall be made for the duration of the unexpired term.
  - c) If any member of the Commission is continuously absent except because of illness or other unavoidable cause from three consecutive meetings of the Commission, his or her appointment may be rescinded by the Board.
- 8. Officers of the Commission:
  - a) The Commission shall, at the first meeting in the year, from its own members, appoint a Chair and a Vice Chair. The Chair shall preside at all meetings and regulate the order of business during the meetings.
  - b) The Chair of the Commission shall appoint the Recording Secretary for the Commission whose duty shall be to prepare and retain custody of the Minutes of the Commission.
  - c) The Chair shall, from time to time, advise the Board on behalf of the Commission on such matters coming within the scope of the Commission's duties.
- 9. Quorum:
  - a) The quorum necessary for the transaction of the business of the Commission shall be a majority of the members.
- 10. Procedure:
  - a) All proceedings of the Commission shall be conducted in accordance with Bourinot's Rules of Procedure and questions arising at any meeting of the Commission shall be decided by a majority of votes. In case of an equality of the votes, the Chair of the Commission shall exercise a casting vote.

- 11. Meetings:
  - a) The Commission shall meet for the dispatch of business, otherwise, regulate its meetings as it deems fit. The Chair may, at the request of the Regional District Administrator, summon a meeting of the Commission upon seven days notice.
  - b) In the absence of the Chair, the Vice Chair shall preside as Chair at any meeting of the Commission. If at any meeting, both the Chair and the Vice Chair are absent, the members shall choose any other member to be Chair for the meeting.
  - c) It shall be the duty of the Secretary, or in his or her absence, any member who may be appointed to act as Secretary for the meeting, to prepare and retain custody of the Minutes of the meeting.
- 12. This bylaw shall take effect, come into force, and be binding upon all persons within Thornhill, Electoral Area E, of the Regional District of Kitimat-Stikine as from the date of adoption.
- 13. This bylaw may be cited as the "Kitimat-Stikine Thornhill Advisory Planning Commission Bylaw No. 555, 2008."

READ A FIRST TIME this	28 <sup>th</sup>	_day of	March	<u>,</u> 2008.
READ A SECOND TIME this	28 <sup>th</sup>	_day of	March	<u>,</u> 2008.
READ A THIRD TIME this	28 <sup>th</sup>	_day of	March	<u>,</u> 2008.
ADOPTED this	28 <sup>th</sup>	_day of	March	<u>,</u> 2008.

Chair

Administrator

Certified a true copy of Bylaw No. 555, 2008, as adopted

Administrator

Original Signed Copy held at RDKS Office