Welcome. The Regional District provides local government services to an area of 107,000km² in northwestern British Columbia. Member municipalities are Kitimat, Terrace, Stewart, Hazelton and New Hazelton.

The Regional District administers over 40 "functions" or services including rural land use planning, community water system, fire protection, tranportation system and library services. 

The Regional District employs approximately 30 full and part-time employees in Terrace and Kitimat.

For information on our departments and their responsibilites, see the Services page.


For a list of Meetings and Events please click on the dates in the Calender on the upper right hand side of this page.

For Regional District Board Meeting  Agendas and Minutes please click here, or click the square button on the left hand side of this page that says 'CivicWeb Board Portal'

August 25th, 2016

Highway 16 Transit Service - Public Engagement.

Click here for dates and times of Public Engagement sessions along the Highway 16 Corridor.

June 30th, 2016

Attention Residents of the South Hazelton, Thornhill and North Terrace Water Systems



August 7th, 2016

Regional Distrit of Kitimat-Stikine is pleased to advise the new Thornhill Transfer Station and Forceman Ridge Waste Management Facilities are currently scheduled to be fully operational by November 1, 2016.  For more details please see the Update.

May 20th, 2016

The Regional District of Kitimat-Stikine is reminding residents on the Thornhill & Terrace Rural Water Systems to assist with water conservation.  Although water conservation is practiced year round it is even more imperative with hot dry temperatures and fire season upon us.

Please keep in mind your water service is for...

May 2nd, 2016

The Regional District is initiating an Official Community Plan update for Thornhill- check out OCP Events below

Thornhill's Official Community Plan (OCP), when completed, will be the over-arching policy document that serves as a guide for elected officials and administration when making a wide range of decisions. The OCP represents the community's shared 5 to 20 year vision. Your input is needed!